The 1989 Tournament

The 1989 Tournament

More than 32 teams took part in the four-day event. East Greenfield took home the Mike Reid Memorial Trophy after beating Fred's Gas Station 4-2 in the A Division final. The Peel Pub won the consolation final with a 7-4 win over the CFCF Heat.

One of the tournament's most enjoyable moments came on Saturday afternoon when a team of NHL players took on the organizing committee, The team included Stave and Dave Kasper, Ray Bourque, Garry Galley, Doug Smith, Mike Dagenais, Corey Foster and Jeff Chychrun.

The 1989 tournament raised $11,000 for the MacKay Centre.

Mike Reid logo
The 1989 Tournament Snapshot

Date: August 10 - 13, 1989
Division A Winners: East Greenfield
Division B Winners: Peel Pub

Money raised for the MacKay Centre School: $11,000.00

Final Scores for the week-end
Division A: East Greenfield 4 - Dobson's Texaco 2
Division B: Peel Pub 7 - CFCF Heat 4

More on The Tournament

The 1989 Tournament in the Media

The St-Lambert Journal

The St-Lambert Journal   Open in PDF >>>

The Gazette

The Gazette    Open in PDF >>>

Unknown Publication

Unknown Publication    Open in PDF >>>